“Zutto Mae Kara Suki Deshita”- Japanese Animation Movie Review

Hello^^. Today’s post is on a new movie called “Zutto Mae Kara Suki Deshita”. This movie came out in April over at Japan, but the English sub had just been recently released. I found this movie by scrolling on YouTube and that was way back in May so you can tell my struggles in waiting for the subs to come out…

Genre: School, Romance, Movie

Length: 1 hour and 4 mins

Plot: Zutto Mae Kara Suki Deshita is a movie about a group of high school students who want to confess to their love interest. At the beginning of the movie, a female student,  Natsuki Enomoto, confesses her love to her childhood friend named Yu Setoguchi. She tells him that she loves him, but due to the embarrassment says that she was just practicing confessing to someone. The story is mainly focusing on her and her trying to gather her courage to confess, but this time for real. Besides Natsuki, her friends are also struggling to get their feelings across. Akari Hayasaka is one of her friends who never been in love and Miō Aida is interested in another boy named  Haruki Serizawa. Sōta Mochizuki is one of their classmates and he is interested in Akari. He tries hard to get Akari to notice him. Koyuki Ayase is another student and he has feelings for Natsuki.

THOUGHTS: Based on this confusing plot you can tell a lot of things happen and it’s kind of confusing cuz of all the characters, but it’s easier to understand if you watch it. In the intro I mentioned that I waited forever to see it and I did, it was on my must watch list for so long. AND IT FINALLY CAME OUT!!

So, I think I read somewhere that this was the first Honey Works movie they ever came out. Back in May, I saw the trailer and I thought that it was the cutest thing ever. So, how was the movie? I thought it was ok. If you’re not into high school romance then this may bore the heck out of you. I did think it was a little boring, but it’s a classic school love. The art was so pretty~ I seriously wish I had skills like their artists! The music was also cute and upbeat. It was kind of funny cuz Natsuki goes to a concert and that band is supposedly from Honey Works. The story pace is a little slow, but I guess love stories are told best at that pace. Almost half of the movie I was internally screaming “Just confess already!!” and they finally do… at the end…

If I could, I would rate this movie maybe an 8 out of 10! I wasn’t exactly disappointed of the overall result, but it was nice to finally watch something I’ve been waiting to see. I can now cross this off my “to watch list”! It was a good movie and kind of made me, KIND OF, want to confess to that someone (but I never will ~ XP). I guess you could say it made me feel warm by the end of it.

-Thanks for reading! Pls. leave a comment, like, and follow!

~CY @ kpop9019

 

Image result for zutto mae kara suki deshita

(**Goggle Images)

Leave a Reply

