Lush’s Mask of Magnaminty Review

I’ve read so many reviews on this popular Lush mask and I was gifted this for Christmas. As you all can tell, this meant that I’ve been using this product for the last 3 months and I finally decided to sit down and review this mask!

I went to the Lush store and of course the first section I had to check out was the face masks. The worker told me that this mask would reduce pore size, lighten acne/ inflammation, and hydrate the skin. I really wanted to try it out so my mom brought it for me as a Christmas gift. I’m so thankful to her cos this product is on the pricey side. This large tub is around $26 and the smaller tub is $15. The small tub was not even half the larger tub so buying the bigger one was cheaper.

There are two versions of mask of magnaminty. One is regular and the other self-preserving. I don’t think there is a difference to be honest. This product expires in around 3 months. I’ve only finished half the tub and I only have a few days before the expiration date T^T. I’ll try my best…

When you open it, you’ll be hit with a scent of mint chocolate ice-cream. If this was food, I wouldn’t be able to resist XDD.

As you can tell, this mask has a green color and there are aduki beans to help exfoliate. Applying this mask, can get quite messy. The beans do not stick well onto the face. I have mixed feelings with this mask. Sometimes I use an exfoliating brush before applying this mask and after washing, I notice my face is irritated and all red. The beans make me itchy and I was so disappointed with this product. I felt bad to my mom since this was not cheap, but luckily if I don’t use the exfoliating brush before the mask, my face is fine. You are supposed to leave this on for 5-10 mins.

After 5 or 10 mins, you are to wash your face with warm water and using circular motions exfoliate the face with the beans. The instructions are to use this for 2-3 times a week.

After the first night of using this, I did notice my pores were a lot smaller and I think since I used this for 3 months, I have controlled my pore size. As for acne/ inflammation, I don’t think much happened. My face did feel soft afterwards, but since I have extremely dry skin, I do not think this face was hydrating enough so I did have to follow up with a moisturizer.

I don’t think I’ll re-purchase this product since it was pricey and I didn’t see major improvements. If someone did gift this to me again, I’ll of course use it. Obviously, this product will be different for everyone who uses it. As for me, it was ok.

Pros:

  • Reduced pore size
  • Easy to wash-off
  • Skin feels soft

Cons:

  • Applies messily
  • Does not reduce inflammation/acnes
  •  May irritate skin

-So have any of you tried this highly-raved mask before or plan on trying to? Please leave a comment below, like, and follow! Thanks for reading!!

~CY @ Kpop9019

 

Leave a Reply

