A Silent Voice Movie Review

I’m finally back!! I apologize for not posting in nearly a month! I finally got a short break from school, so I have to take this opportunity! Today’s post will be a review on the hyped “A Silent Voice” Japanese Animated film.

Image result for a silent voice

Genre: Romance, School, Drama

Length: 2 hrs. 9 mins

Plot: Shoya Ishida is a high school student with a troubling past. He and his friends used to bully a deaf girl, Shoko Nishimiya, in elementary school and when the teachers and principal found out, he got all the blame. Now, he was the one to be bullied. Ishida isolated himself from his classmates and would not look at their faces, having x-ed them out of his life. Currently, in high school, Ishida finds Nishimiya again and tries to apologize. He wants to befriend her and make up for his wrong-doings. As they grow closer, they begin to develop feelings for each other and Ishida slowly opens up and finds what he can now call “friends”.

Thoughts: I did think this film was very touching. Since being deaf is a sensitive issue and there are countless hardships, I do think that this movie captured them all pretty well. They showed how tough growing up and trying to fit into society and school in general was in a young girl’s perspective. Another lesson worth mentioning, was that bullying is very hurtful and regretful. Ishida was a bully in elementary school, but since no one stuck up for him, he was now the one being bullied. I didn’t mention this in the plot description, but the film also sheds light onto the friends he grew up with also their problems and difficulties.

In terms of pacing, this movie is definitely slow. I’ve mentioned this plenty of times, but I’m not a big fan of slow movies. I like action and to keep it short, something needs to happen or else it gets boring. Now for this film, it was bearable. I do think they did a pretty good job developing the story and growing the main lead/ other characters.

Comparisons: I’ve never read the manga, but I’ve read comments saying how the movie was a little too light and did not go into depth into some other problems; they were disappointed. In the movie, I did notice those issues, and the film only hinted at it so I can understand why some viewers may have been disappointed. I’ve also read that this movie won “best pictures” or some award versus the film “Kimi no Nawa Wa” (Your Name).  Now, first of all I’m not sure why these two would be compared since their plots are entirely different save the whole tragic type of feel. But… to be honest… I actually prefer “Kimi no Nawa Wa”. Don’t get me wrong, this movie did hit me in the feels, but “Kimi no Nawa Wa” made me want to bawl my eyes out at the end. But nevertheless, these two were still great movies.

Music: I guess the music was mediocre since I don’t really remember any striking pieces.

Ending: Since I didn’t read the manga, I had no idea what was going to happen and it was shocking towards the end. However, I don’t think this movie did a great job at wrapping up with some issues and the “reunion” (I guess it could be called that) between Ishida and one of his previous friends. Basically, when the credits rolled in, I was still staring at the screen waiting for something to happen, but nothing ever did.

Overall, I would like to recommend this movie. I think people will be able to gain a new understanding of the world and its imperfections.

-So have any of you watched this film yet? Leave a comment below of your opinions! Pls. like, comment, and follow! Thanks for reading!!

~CY @kpop9019

 

Leave a Reply

