Eternal Love Chinese Drama Review

Hey guys! I’m back with another drama review and this one is on a newly ended Chinese drama called “Eternal Love”. It stars Liang Jie and Xing Zhao Lin as the main leads.

Image result for eternal love

(**Image is not mine. All credits to owners)

Genre: Romance, Historical

#Eps: 24 (each around 35 mins.)

Plot: For the past month, Qu Tan Er has has some problems. It seems that whenever she hits her head, she turns into a completely different person. This other side of her is named Xiao Tan and she is very different from Qu Tan Er since she comes from the modern era. Xiao Tan is rough, a little reckless, and disrespectful. On the other hand, Qu Tan Er is quiet, polite, and knowledgeable. Qu Tan Er has her heart for the eldest prince, but he is already married to her older sister. Qu Tan Er is arranged to marry the 8th prince named Mo Lian Cheng. She takes this as an opportunity to help the eldest prince become crown prince, but Xiao Tan falls for the 8th prince. Which prince will become crown prince and how will Xiao Tan return to the modern era?

THOUGHTS:

I thought this drama was average. This drama focuses heavily on the romance between Xiao Tan and Mo Lian Cheng. Sometimes I found myself cringing at the cutesy parts, but I shipped them.

Something I didn’t like about this drama was that it was not what I had wanted it to be. There were very fake and supernatural aspects included in this drama which I found unnecessary and made the drama a little elementary. What I had wanted was that Xiao Tan eventually returns to her modern world while Qu Tan Er and Mo Lian Cheng end up together. There would be a struggle of power (the main story line) between the eldest prince and 8th prince but eventually, the 8th prince would become crown prince. BUT, nope! They made Xiao Tan end up with the 8th prince and eventually have a child which I found VERY unnecessary given what happens at the end of the drama. Add the supernatural parts and bam! A downgraded drama!

Characters:

At the beginning of this drama, I was very intrigued by Qu Tan Er and Xiao Tan. They were both very funny whenever they switched and I found it very cute when Xiao Tan was with Mo Lian Cheng. I actually shipped them and preferred Xiao Tan over Qu Tan Er since Qu Tan Er was too passive and a little boring. However… near the end I found Xiao Tan EXTREMELY annoying and immature. She was a grown woman but did not respect the past Chinese traditions and was stuck to Mo Lian Cheng like glue. Her character seriously went downhill for me.

As for the actual actors, I think Liang Jie did a good job. She had to play two distinctly different characters and I think she did pretty well for that. Xing Zhao Lin is a fairly good actor as well. His character did seem in love with Qu Tan Er.

I didn’t find much of a growth development between the characters though. Oh, but one character I did like in the drama was Jing Xin who is Qu Tan Er’s maid. I found her cute and loyal.

Music:

What I did like about this drama was the music. The opening song was very nice to listen to and it fit my taste in music. The ending song is peaceful, but I did not like it as much as the opening one.

Ending: 

As you could tell, I did not like what led up to the ending of the drama. They have a child, but they disappear somewhere else, which left me wonder what the point of having a child in the first place was!! Plus, I also found the ending very rushed and had wished there was more action that happened throughout the episodes leading to the finale. They actually fight the villain in the last episode which is only around 33 mins!!

Overall, I rate this drama a 7 out of 10. I would have rated it higher but the middle leading to the end ruined it for me. I’m sure some of you would find the whole show enjoyable to watch, but as for me, it was ok.

-Pls. leave a comment below, like, and follow! Thanks for reading!! Check out @kpop9019 on Insta!

~CY @kpop9019

 

Leave a Reply

